megmariem

a heart, longing for more of it's Lover.

Just left a funeral

My eyes are swollen and my heart is sensitive. I just left a funeral for one of my great-aunts. Aunt Jewelia. I am not emotional because of a loss – but I am emotional because of the compassion for my great-uncle that overwhelmed me this afternoon. Aunt Jewelia’s husband of 57 years barely responded as I hugged him and told him that we loved him and were praying for him. When I looked into his eyes, they seemed empty. As soon as I stepped back, he slowly maneuvered his motorized wheelchair as closely as he could with the casket that held my aunt, reached out, and wrapped his hand around hers. Gazing at her. Soaking up as much as he could of her before they took her away. My heart broke for him as he said goodbye.

20121207-170252.jpg

We went into the chapel where the service would be held. Tears escaped my eyes as I listened to her sons testify of her life…both of them struggling to get the words out clearly so that all attendees would understand what a wonderful woman their mother was. Something about grown men breaking down in tears melts and breaks my heart at the same time.

Praise the Lord that we can be confident of the truth that my Aunt Jewelia is rejoicing in His presence even now! Not only is she loving and worshipping her Savior, she is standing beside her son that she lost when he was 22 years of age…over 30 years ago. Thank You, Lord, thank You.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

