megmariem

a heart, longing for more of it's Lover.

More about my break from social media…

So – the Lord has been convicting my heart – though I long for my facebook and tumblr to be a place of encouragement for the people that are friends/followers, I am guilty of picking up my phone and scrolling mindlessly for too long, when I should be in the Word of God. As I have been asking the Lord to change my heart to be completely infatuated with Him, this has become more and more apparent.

I am not going to delete my facebook because I am connected with so many brothers and sisters from my overseas missions trips…but I feel like it’s time for a facebook hiatus. I don’t know how long this break will last – but Jesus and I are going to take our time.

As for tumblr – somehow that site becomes more and more focused on how many followers you have or how many people “like” or “reblog” your posts. Frustration sometimes mounts as I see pointless, even rude things reblogged and posted thousands of times and the posts that contain truth and life are barely read or looked at. Then, you find that the sweetest Christian brother or sister begins reblogging the junk that gets the attention because they want the notifications and followers. It breaks my heart.
So — there are several things that are on my heart about all of the social media – but the main reason I am “breaking” from it for the time being is because I just want to retreat and spend time solely with Jesus. I want to run after His heart, and I want to rid myself of the things that I am learning are stealing my time. I don’t know how long this break will last, but I just want to take my time with Him.
So, here is where I will be pouring out my heart, recording the things that I feel I am learning and seeking Him about. I’m not planning to really publicize this blog – but if you happen to stumble upon it by accident, proceed at your own caution 😉 You are welcome to pour over my heart cries, and if you ever have any questions about what I blog, you can feel free to contact me 🙂
God bless.
Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

